How To Manage Your Individual Contacts (Incl Opt Out, Groups, Activity And History)

How To Manage Your Individual Contacts (Incl Opt Out, Groups, Activity And History)

To view an existing contact click on the record from the Address Book.  This will open the View Contact screen.



At the very top of the screen you will see icons for;
  1. Days Since Last Contacted - shows the number of days since an Email Response, SMS, Live Lead or eDM was created against this customer
  2. Vehicles Enquired On - shows the number of different leads created on vehicles by this customer
To change any of your customer information just type into the field and you will see the SAVE button appear at the bottom of the page.  Click on this button to ensure your changes are retained.

What Has Happened To This Contact?
To track what has occured against this customer there are several approaches;
  1. Via Email History in grey action menu - will show any Email Response, Live Leads or eDM's sent to this customer via AutoPlay
  2. History (in MORE menu) - will send an email to the logged in user with a history of all the changes on the customer record.  Predominantly used when there is customer integration with a DMS as it will reflect when the record is updated due to a change of details within the DMS
  3. Audit (in MORE menu) - if the user has the Audit role then they can see an record of every value change against the customer whether made by the system, or by a particular user.
In addition if the Contact has previously had any Leads, Test Drives, Appraisals or Prospect records create these will be shown under the respective sections here.  If you have the correct Role Management to view the Leads or Prospect records you are able to click through to view.  If you do not have the correct access you will see a Summary screen instead which will give you a basic view of the customers activities.

     

Managing Email Marketing For This Contact
Any Contact Groups the contact is a member of will be shown in the 'Member Of' section.  If you wish to add or remove the contact from the group select the 'EDIT' button and you can select/unselect from any of the groups set up in the dealership.  If you wish to add/remove the contact from ALL Groups you can use the 'Select All'/'Clear All' buttons.  If you wish to create a Group on the fly to add this customer to click on the 'Create New' button.  If your list of Groups is long it can be helpful to use the keyword search to search the group name or ID.



If your customer has been sent an email and they don't wish to receive any comms from the dealership they may have clicked an 'unsubscribe' link on your email.  However if they email or phone you directly to unsubscribe you can do this via the 'Status' field.  Just change the customer to 'Opted Out' and this will ensure that the customer is not accidentally sent any eDM's or Live Leads emails via AutoPlay.  This failsafe ensures that even if the customer is reuploaded to a Contact Group, they will still be flagged as 'Opted Out'.  Opting Out a contact record does not prevent a user sending a one-on-one Email Response.

Managing Privacy Settings
If you have the 'Privacy Enhanced' role enabled you can manage your customers Privacy Channel settings under the 'Privacy Channels' accordion.




When capturing Leads from an external website, or another 3rd party system such as a DMS AutoPlay will default to treat the external provider as the source of truth if data is provide (unless specified).  You can view a list of changes to Privacy information in the Contact screen via Audit in the grey action menu.

Deleting A Contact
If you are a Manager in the 'Manage Contacts' role you are able to delete a Contact via the 'Delete' button in the 'More' menu.  Please note that deleting a contact is permanent and should only be used to clean up duplicates.  If you have integration with a DMS or CRM via AutoPlay please contact support@autoplay.co.nz to determine that your particular integration will handle this.  

Additionally if you have any Leads, Test Drives, Appraisals, Loan Car Forms or Prospect records against this contact the record will become orphaned.

The Right To Be Forgotten 
One of the principles of GDPR is the right to be forgotten.  If a customer calls and wishes you to delete them from the database you can select the 'Anonymise Data' option in the Contact record.  This will keep the Contact record but will replace all the customer details with XXXX on all Contact, Propsect, Lead, TD, Appraisal and Write Up Forms.  Where a customer has signed a Form this will be retained.
This option is only available when the 'Privacy Enanced' role is enabled.